Skip to main content

Bharatanatyam Dance Classes Online

You must be wondering that we are talking about some yoga or exercise but we are talking about “Bharatnatyam.” The oldest Indian classical dance from Tamil Nadu which is performed with excellent footwork and impressive gestures and so much grace. In short, it is a magical blend of expressions, melody, and rhythm that not only hones your mental skills but also builds mental alertness. But did you know that there’s a hidden meaning in the word “Bharatnatyam?” Without being much secretive, let’s cut to the chase. In Bharatnatyam, Bha i.e. Bhavam means expression or emotion, Ra i.e. Ragam means music, Ta i.e. Talam means rhythm, and Natyam means dance in Tamil.

The roots of Bharatnatyam are significantly associated with Natya Shastra of Bharat Muni. Like the other Indian classical dance form, it is also one of the oldest devotional temple dances in ancient times which devadasis used to perform. Bharatnatyam dance form was known by different names like ‘Sadhir Attam’ and ‘Daasiyattam’.

Bharatnatyam has consisted of a total of six different sections and each one of them has a different meaning. Though the dance form originated in Tamil Nadu, it has a mix of several different personalities and places. This particular thing has led this dance form to different styles. Now, there are three different Bharatanatyam styles that are very famous and practiced widely.

Adavus are the major part of the Bharatnatyam dance form. It is mainly the combination of the standing and the leg posture of the dance form. In the Bharatnatyam dance form, there are a total of 13 adavus which are very essential for learning. You will learn about it more if you join the best online classes.

Learner’s outcome-

  • Learn Nritta (pure dance), Natya (Abhinaya or expression), Nritya (a combination of the previous 2 aspects).
  • Learn Bhava- Basic Expressions for storytelling through dance.
  • Learn Adavus: Basic steps of Bharatanatyam which are a combination of footwork and hand gestures.
  • Learn Pada Bhedas: Positions of the feet and their application in Adavus.
  • Learn Laya – Steps to build rhythm and coordination in the body.
  • Learn Hasta Mudras aka Hand movements: Whole set of Asamyukta hastas (single hand gestures).
  • Learn Aramandi: To avoid future injuries and work on the basic position of the arms “Natyarambhe”
  • Learn neck movements
  • Confidence to go up there and dazzle!